Purchasing A New Multimeter

I’ve decided I’m going to upgrade some of my tools and purchase a new multimeter. This hasn’t been an easy decision, I’ve had my trusty Fluke meter for years and it has never skipped a beat. I will more than likely buy a fluke multimeter again, there’s a reason they are considered by so many electricians to be the best in the business. The reason I’ve decided to upgrade is because I want to give my nephew a multimeter, and try to get him interested in electronics – just like I was introduced when I was a child.

purchasing-a-multimeter
Fluke Are The Best Brand Of Multimeters, In My Opinion

I’m not just going to jump into it and buy a multimeter straight away, I’m going to do some thorough research to see what the best multimeter is these days. I know there’s been quite a few great meters come out in the past decade, but also some not-quite-so-great ones too. My top requirement is that it has to be durable. In my line of work, as a maintenance electrician, things can get a little rough sometimes with heavy machinery, grease and weighty tools nearby. I’d be devastated if I’d just bought a new meter, and accidentally crushed it in the bottom of my tool bag once I’d put some heavy tools on it. A cheaper, non-durable meter would be fine if I was working with small electronics on a table and in a safe environment, but that just isn’t the case. Along those lines, it would also be absolutely necessary to come with a protective case – or be able to purchase one along with it.

Next on my list would be that it has to come with the ability to be able measure high currents. I will look into whether or not I will get one with a built in clamp meter or not. When you’re dealing with machinery that runs on hundreds of amps, you need to be able to test those amps quickly, safely and accurately.

I will want a multimeter with a good, extended warranty – the minimum would be 3 years. I feel that if your meter has lasted for three years with every day use, then you have got your moneys worth. But like I said, three years is the minimum, if I can find one with a 5 year or even lifetime warranty, then that will rank very highly on my list.

I’m assuming the cost of the multimeter I buy is going to be above $400, I do not mind paying so much because the way I see it, even if it lasts me for 3 years then it only works out to a couple of dollars per week. And you always pay for quality. So to recap, my top 3 requirements for the meter I’m going to purchase are:

  • Must be durable and be able to withstand being used in a large factory for years to come.
  • It has to be able to measure large currents – whether with a built in clamp meter or with an attachment.
  • It must come with at least 3 years warranty, but a lifetime warranty would be the best.

I will be reading a few guides and reviews in the coming days before I buy my multimeter.

