Welcome To Multimeter Pro!

Welcome to my blog, MultimeterPro. I’m really excited about launching this blog, multimeters have been somewhat of a passion of mine since my dad gave me his second hand one when I was about 15 years old. You would continually find me running around our house (my to the dismay of my mother), pulling electronic appliances apart to test all the components inside – then putting them back together again. This allowed me to gain a great deal of knowledge, not only in how the meters worked and performed, but how everyday electrical appliances worked too. This knowledge expanded over the years and allowed me to gain employment in a job I love, as a maintenance electrician. As you can guess, I’m pretty happy to be using these great tools every day in my job!

multimeter_internals
Inside a Multimeter

Over the years, I bought various testers from ammeters, analog ohmmeters, digital ohmmeters, voltmeters, current clamp meters. But you’ll mainly find me blogging about digital multimeters on here.

In the MultimeterPro blog, I’m going to share with you as much information as I can about getting the most out of your tools and using them in the safest possible manner. Some of the things I’m looking forward to sharing are:

  • The history of the digital meter and how they evolved from radio receivers invented in the 1920s, to what they are today.
  • Explaining what terms like capacitance, decibels, frequency, inductance, conductance actually mean – and do you actually need to measure all of those with your multimeter?
  • How to best take care of your electronic tools, to keep them in top shape and performing as they should for years to come – a must for safety!
  • Testing equipment around your home in an efficient and safe manner.
  • How much you should spend on a meter.
  • Help with choosing a multimeter.
  • Various opinions and anecdotes from my everyday life working as a maintenance electrician – you would not believe some of the dangerous electrical issues I encounter on a day to day basis.

I invite all of my readers to comment, share and get involved with all of my posts – I’d really love to hear from other people who are as interested in multimeters as me. Please, if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to get in contact with me – I’m more than happy to answer!

Thank you for visiting and reading, I’m thrilled to have you here and look forward to communicating with you!

